Home > Uncategorized > I’d rather not sleep through September, thanks.

I’d rather not sleep through September, thanks.

I have never disagreed with the lyrics “Wake me up when September ends” more than I do right now.

I am going to love September. It’s only part way through August, and I can already tell this. I am so very excited for school to start. Honestly? I work with the most amazing people and will be working with some really rad kids, so I am so very excited for this school year to start.

I’m not as niave as it may seem. I know that it’s going to be tough. There are coming days when I will feel as though these wonderful children are driving me insane. I am going to have conflict with these amazing people whose team I’m on. But I am going to not let that destroy how I feel today.

I got to spend roughly 45 mins playing basketball with a 5th grader today. I am proud to say that he, who is fairly good at sports, actually had to work to keep up. I mean, I still beat him in 21 about 3 games to 2. And I beat him in horse. And Around the World. Not that I’m bragging or anything. :P But it was the most fun I’ve had in a while. I am usually very much an introvert, and being around people usually tires me out… no matter how much I enjoy those people. But children/ jr. highers change all of that. I can spend hours with kids and weird/awkward/ totally awesome jr. highers and actually walk away in a better mood and with more energy. It’s like they “cure” my introversion. Or reverse it.  I don’t know… I just know that I love being around them. Even though I was very hot and sweaty, I had so much fun today. I only stopped when I did because my boss summoned me for a meeting. How long has it been since I engaged in an actively that I had to literally be torn away from?

Needless to say, I am very much looking forward to this year. I am feeling much better, much more comfortable at this school. I definitely feel connected and maybe even a little confident here.  Today, one of the girls that I had worked with last year came running up to me as I was walking in and gave me a big hug and a kiss on the cheek. Ugh!! Melted my heart!! I can’t wait to see our girls again, and meet the new kids tomorrow and tuesday. Dani’s exuberance just got me all excited for the kids coming in. I can honestly say that I have not been this excited for school since I was in elementary school. It’s the greatest thing ever.

I don’t know how long this state of mind will last… but I’m hoping for a while. :P

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

