Home > Uncategorized > Day 3

Day 3

Day 3: Post a picture of the cast from your favorite tv show

This one is also a hard one. Growing up, my family did not have cable tv. My parents just never felt that they *needed* it.  We also didn’t have any gaming systems, and did not get a computer until I was in the 3rd grade, and then the internet when I was in the 5th grade. My parents just felt that things like gaming systems, computers, and especially the internet would cause more problems than benefits. More than that, they knew that those things would be distractions.  So, I really didn’t watch much tv. TV really didn’t become part of my life until after all my brothers and sisters starting leaving for college. It was then that my mother started watching tv every night, mostly to add some  noise to the suddenly much quieter house. We still didn’t have cable, though… so we stuck with the 5 channels our antennea could pick up. We called it “farmer vision”.

So, needless to say, I really didn’t get exposed to tv until college. Even then, I can’t *really* say that I liked any one particular show. I watched what everyone else was watching in the livingroom/ common area. Stuff like: One Tree Hill, Grey’s Anatomy, The O.C., The Hills, Gilmore Girls, The Office, and ocassionaly CSI, the one show I was familiar with.  Eventually, I was exposed to netflix and megavideo, and the joys of internet viewing of network tv shows. This was highly educational to me, media-wise. I began to seek out names of shows that I recognized. What I discovered was that I was a nerd. Truly. The shows I kept coming back to… and keep coming back to… tended to be either syfy action/comedy shows or crime dramas. So yea. Let it be known that I don’t watch any of the following all too consistently, but the following are the shows that I would call my “favorites”:

Criminal Minds:

Okay. I admit it… I have seen every episode. Not kidding.  I *really* discovered this show my last semester of college, and watched seasons 1-5 in about 9 weeks. I know… I *know*!!

Good show. Love that MGG.  But really, before it was Criminal Minds, it was the original CSI. And I even went through a 20/20 and 48 hours faze. What a nerd, I know. But no worries, it gets worst.

Doctor Who:

Who doesn’t like a good syfy comedy/drama? Well, a lot of people actually. Just so you all know? Doctor Who is considered a “classy” syfy show to be addicted to. So there. At least it isn’t Stargate (any of them). I must be honest and say that I did go through a Starfate faze. Luckily? It didn’t last very far after Stargate SG-1. And I’ve never seen Stargate Universe, so I can’t *really* be called a Stargate fan. Anymore.  I’ve also seen all of the Firefly series. And every season of X-Files. So, really?  I’m a bonifide modern syfy nerd. It’s okay, I’ve accepted it.

And finall, the last “favorite” of mine:

Dexter:

Yup. Who doesn’t like a good serial killer? Honestly, I’m just a huge fan of most of the stuff showtime puts out simply because the shows are catchhy and full of sarcastic humor which I *adore*. But honestly? I can’t explain this one. Not at all. I watched most of the first season of Burn Notice with my brother-in-law… but Dexter? This was all me. And I love this show. I don’t know why.

Runners up would be So You Think You Can Dance and The Sing-off.  But not American idol. Never that.

So there ya go. I know, the rules say “your favorite show”. As in singular… but I break the rules. Always.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

